Record Details

Catalog Search

Rumble : the Indians who rocked the world  Cover Image DVD DVD

Rumble : the Indians who rocked the world / Kino Lorber ; Seminole Hard Rock Entertainment presents ; Independent Lens ; a Rezolution Pictures film ; Executive producers, Steve Salas, Tim Johnson, Catherine Bainbridge, Christina Fon, Diana Holtzberg, Linda Ludwick, Jan Rofekamp, Ernest Webb ; producers, Catherine Bainbridge, Christina Fon, Linda Ludwick, Lisa M. Roth; directed by Catherine Bainbridge and Alfonso Maiorana ; written by Catherine Bainbridge & Alfonso Maiorana.

Salas, Stevie, (executive producer,, interviewee.). Bainbridge, Catherine, (film director,, film producer,, screenwriter.). Maiorana, Alfonso, (film director,, film producer,, screenwriter,, director of photography.). Charest, Benoît, (composer of original soundtrack.). Seminole Hard Rock Entertainment (Firm), (presenter.). Kino Lorber, Inc., (distributor.). Rezolution Pictures Inc., (production company.). Kino Lorber Edu (Firm), (publisher.).

"This revelatory documentary brings to light the profound and overlooked influence of Indigenous people on popular music in North America. Focusing on music icons like Link Wray, Jimi Hendrix, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Taboo (The Black Eyed Peas), Charley Patton, Mildred Bailey, Jesse Ed Davis, Robbie Robertson, and Randy Castillo, RUMBLE: The Indians Who Rocked the World shows how these pioneering Native American musicians helped shape the soundtracks of our lives. The idea for RUMBLE came about when guitarist Stevie Salas, an Apache Indian and one of the film's Executive Producers, realized that no one outside of the music business knew about the profound contribution of these Native musicians. Renewed attention to this missing chapter in the history of American music led to the publishing of Brian Wright-McLeod's The Encyclopedia of Native Music, an exhibit at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, and eventually this documentary." -- Container

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (102 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Publisher: New York : Kino Lorber Edu, ©2017.

Content descriptions

General Note:
This disc may not play on all machines or drives.
Originally produced as a documentary in 2017.
Creation/Production Credits Note:
Director of photography, Alfonso Maiorana ; original soundtrack composed by Benoît Charest ; editors, Benjamin Duffield, Jeremiah Hayes.
Participant or Performer Note:
Featuring interviews with musicians, historians, and experts including: George Clinton, Robbie Robertson, Gary Giddins, Martin Scorsese, Steven Van Zandt, Joy Harjo, Stevie Salas, David Fricke, Wayne Kramer, Taylor Hawkins, Ron Welburn, Taj Mahal, Slash, Iggy Pop, Antonino D'Ambrosio, Greg Laxton, Marky Ramone, Dan Auerbach, Jennifer Kreisberg, Pura Fé Crescioni, John Troutman, Alvin Youngblood Heart, John Trudell, Tony Bennett, and others.
System Details Note:
DVD-R; widescreen format.
Language Note:
English dialogue; English closed-captions for the hearing impaired.
Awards Note:
Winner, Special Jury Award for Masterful Storytelling, 2017 Sundance Film Festival.
Subject: Indian rock musicians.
Indian musicians.
Indians of North America > Music.
Rock music.
Genre: Documentary films.
Nonfiction films.
Feature films.
Historical films.
Video recordings for the hearing impaired.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Berks County. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at RACC.


  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Circulation Modifier Status Due Date Courses
RACC New - ML3557 .R86 2017 (Text) 33624024875864 New DVD Available -

Additional Resources